What are the 3 territories of Canada?

Canada’s provinces and territories together unite to form the second largest country in the world. There are three territories in Canada. The Canadian territories do not have any inherent jurisdiction. They enjoy only those powers which the federal government bestows upon them. The territories of Canada are located in mainland Canada, latitude 60 degree north as well as in the west of Hudson Bay. It also includes areas extending from James Bay to Canadian Arctic Islands. The three territories of Canada are:

NunavutYukonNorthwest Territories

Nunavut: The final territory to be formed in Canada was Nunavut on April 1, 1999. Nunavut is the largest of the three territories of Canada occupying about one fifth part of land mass of Canada. The two large islands in Canada are Ellesmere Island and Baffin Island. Iqaluit is the capital of Nunavut. The aboriginals called the Inuit consist of the major percentage of this territory’s population. Winters are usually very long and cold in Nunavut. The chief industries in this area are mining, fishing, tourism, packaging of raw meat and fish.

Yukon: This is the smallest territory in Canada. It is situated in the northwestern corner of the country. Earliest settlement in this area happened with aboriginals migrating from Asia who fished, hunted, and trapped for a living. The economy mainly rests on mining, tourism.

Northwest Territories: This is the second amongst the three territories in Canada in terms of size. The capital city of Northwest Territories is Yellowknife. The Inuit and Dene groups of people were the first to reside in this region. Tourism and exploration of oil along with natural gas are the primary resources of this area.